I hate Breakfast At Tiffany’s

I don’t. I love that movie. I love Moon River. I love skinny-girl-needing-a-rescue. I love it all. I eat it up.

A friend of mine wants a cat. She wants an orange/white cat and to name it Cat. Like Holly did. We stood in the elaborate ice cream parlor that had flavors like Strawberry Cheesecake, but also Sesame and Corn. “I hate Breakfast at Tiffany’s.” my other friend says. “Why” I ask. “I want to know. Maybe I agree with you.”

“I hate Audrey Hepburn. I mean, I look at her and… I don’t see what all the fuss is about.”

“Oh it’s fairly simple: She’s fragile and little. Tough, of course, but her frailty makes her toughness look, like, SO TOUGH.” I continued because It felt like I had done research on the subject. “Men like her because she’s little – women like her because they want to be little and liked by men (oh, and they want to be rescued.) I prefer Bette Davis shark eyes. (Many think she’s overrated too. She might be, but who cares – she’ll kill you.)

“It makes me want to punch her.” she said about Audrey. Mind you this girl is thin, herself. Incase one might think the comment was made by a girl of big bone.

Um, plus when Audrey Hepburn eats that Danish outside the Jewelry Store, she spit bits of it back into the paper bag. How’s that for being well-adjusted? Diamonds are a broken-hearted girl’s best friend, but I like it better as a showtune. I always loved Audrey Hepburn, but maybe it was because I wanted to be her – painfully.

Leave a Reply

