Nothing, no connection really

Things I overhear, or something to make it sound less weird:

“You’re so small! So insignificant in the grand scheme of things. “Grand scheme of things?” Did you just fucking say, “Grand scheme of things?” Stop it now! Look, look, look – you heard it from some movie – so did everyone else your age and you’re all using it like GODDAMN philosophers. And I don’t know, maybe you are, but it’s fucking 2009 and we don’t need philosophers anymore.”

“Imagine a world where no one really talks or emotes besides the usual Hey or Whattup. (It’s been done, but imagine it anyway.) Some people would do FINE – they probably won’t even notice the change in the air. Others might explode. Guts everywhere. The ones who explode the most might (MIGHT?) be the ones who actually NEED to be heard. The chatty ones just die quietly – relatively quiet explosion. Cigar ashes at most.”

* And now? The only part i like of A CERTAIN play. And what I chose to do was break it up and share my own insight on this animal monologue I like so much. Ok, here we go.

It is night on planet earth and I’m alive. (NIGHT ON EARTH IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE MOVIES, OH HE SAID “NIGHT ON **PLANET** EARTH”.)

And someday I’ll be dead. (I GOT NOTHING.)

Someday I’ll just be bones in a box, but right now, I’m not. And anything is possible.
(ALMOST.)

There’s no failure, there’s no mistakes. (REMEMBER THIS.)

And so, right now I’m getting naked and I’m not afraid. You know? (NICE.)

I don’t need money. I don’t, I don’t even need, I don’t even need a future. (I HAVE A SAVINGS ACCOUNT – JUST INCASE.)

I, I could knock out all of my teeth with a hammer. (STAY AWAY FROM THE TEETH – THOSE DON’T GROW BACK.)

So what? You know, I could poke my eyes out. I’d still be alive, you know? (THE ONLY PART OF OEDIPUS REX THAT I DIDN’T LIKE WAS WHEN HE GOUGES OUT HIS EYES. I THOUGHT IT WAS UNNECESSARY AND OVERDONE. I WOULD NEVER GOUGE OUT MY EYES. MAYBE I’M LETTING SOMEONE DOWN BY SAYING THAT.)

At least I’d know that I was doing something real for two or three seconds, you know? (IT’S MOSTLY OTHER THINGS I THINK ARE FAKE. UNLESS, WAIT. UNLESS OTHER PEOPLE HAVE THAT SAME ATTITUDE AND WE’RE JUST SCREWING EACHOTHER OVER.)

It’s all about fear and I’m not afraid anymore. Fuck it! Fuck fear!
(ACTUALLY YEAH, IT’S TRUE. I COULD BE FRIENDS WITH THIS NAKED PERSON.)

Leave a Reply

