Anoush talks to Milk

MILK
Well, maybe I don’t WANT to work – you ever thinka that?

ANOUSH
Wah wah wah.

MILK
I mean, where is it written that folks have to choose a path and actually pursue it?

ANOUSH
Actually, it’s written everywhere. It’s like pretty standard.

MILK
I dunno, maybe it’s my background.

ANOUSH
Udder?

MILK
Haha, no one calls it that anymore.

ANOUSH
Alright-alright! Whatever.

(We continue talking)

MILK
But it’s like, why do I have to choose? Why is everything all ice-cream or cheese?

ANOUSH
Well, it’s not all black and white like that. I mean, what’re your friends doing now?

MILK
Ugh, they’re all pour-outs and have gotten really bitter about the industry. It’s like blah blah blah ice-cream is more fast-paced, you get to meet people blah blah blah. And with cheese, there’s more security. Less deadlines I guess.

ANOUSH
Right.

MILK
‘Cause frankly, I’d like some extra time.

ANOUSH
Yeah.

MILK
Become a finer individual. More cultured.

ANOUSH
No, I hear ya.

MILK
I just don’t wanna reek of regret like my father.

ANOUSH
You won’t. Hey. Hey look at me. You’re not your father. I mean, your father was a good guy.

MILK
…he just waited too long.

:::No one says anything for 15 seconds:::

ANOUSH
So, what’re you good at?

MILK
I like working with people. I like helping people feel good about themselves. I like working with elders.

ANOUSH
Yeah, I can definitely see you as soft-serve material. I think you’d be good at it.

MILK
Yeah? Thanks. But then, I dunno, I kinda also want to live in Paris for a while.

ANOUSH
Ah, I see what you’re saying.

MILK
Yeah, go and give the whole hors d’œuvre thing a whirl. I get along with the breads and I understand French well enough.

ANOUSH
Have you ever thought of yogurt?

MILK
What’re you trying to say?

ANOUSH
Nothing. There’s nothing wrong with yogurt.

MILK
Waste-a time.

ANOUSH
Look some people try yogurt for a while while they’re still looking.

MILK
No, if I’m gonna do it, I’m gonna do it. None of this parttime crap.

ANOUSH
And? you can always look for butter work. I guaranty you someone is ALWAYS looking for a butter to help ’em out.

MILK
Ugh this is so depressing.

ANOUSH
When you think of folks who’ve made it big, most of them if not all started out as butter.

MILK
Yeah.

ANOUSH
And all the experience you get, keep it later for when you’re… smelly and in Paris.

MILK
I mean, it makes sense.

ANOUSH
Glad to hear it. I mean it’s not like I have all the answers.

MILK
No, I know.

ANOUSH
In the end, it all comes down to what YOU want.

MILK
Yeah. Hey this was helpful though. Thanks.

:::No one says anything for 15 seconds:::

ANOUSH
Well, you know where to find me if you ever wanna chat.

MILK
Yeah. And… you know where to find me.

THE END

Leave a Reply

